Please find below details of all the people who keep Darvel Church running smoothly.


Type text here
MINISTER: Rev. Charles M. D. Lines BA (Hons)   

The Rev Charles Lines was ordained and inducted to the charge of Darvel Parish Church in March 2010 after completing his training for ministry at St Matthew's Church in Perth.  Charles began his ministry on the Isle of Harris in the Outer Hebrides, where he trained as a Reader, before studying for a theology degree in Bristol.  He continued his academic training at Glasgow University after a two year locum on the Isle of Barra.


Charles was a single parent for a number of years; his three sons are now grown up and live away from home.  He married his second wife Evelyn in 2008, whom he met while on placement as a candidate for ministry in Ruchazie, Glasgow.


Charles has a background in agricultural engineering and still maintains an interest in farming and farm machinery.  He is also a keen woodworker, in the widest sense of the word, and likes hill walking, when he gets the time. 

 Tel: 01560 322924     Email:

(Please contact Rev. Lines for all enquiries regarding use of the church building)


 SESSION CLERK:    Mr. John Grier       Tel: 01560 321355







 CONGREGATIONAL CLERK:  Mrs. Margaret Bell    Tel:  01560 321964:









TREASURER:                           Mrs. Jeanette Gordon  Tel:  07990 523806








Mr. Richard Henry           Tel:  01560 323246









Tel: 01560 320672


Tel: 01560 320596       

ORGANIST & CHOIRMASTER: Freelance Rotation.  Weddings and funerals by arrangement with the minister.


Tel:  01560 320262       Email:

Please call Mrs. Ramsay for all enquiries regarding the use of the church halls.

Kirk Session:

Mrs. Margaret Bell, Mr. Derek. Black (Senior Elder), Mr. T. Graham Couper, Mr Jim Craig, Mr. Tom Ferguson, Mrs. Jeanette Gordon, Mr John Grier,(Session Clerk), Mrs Margaret Henry, Mr. Richard Henry, Mrs. Elizabeth H. Higton, MBE,

Mrs. Jessie H.T. Ireland, Mrs. Evelyn Lines, Mr Robert McBride, Mr. David Ralston, Mrs. Anne Ramsay,Mrs. Janette Struthers, Mr. Robert Struthers, Mrs. Anne Thomson, Mr. Alex Thomson, Mrs. Anne Walker

Additional (Retired) Elders: Mr. Alasdair Y. Cameron, Mrs. Ina Findlay, Mr. George Ferguson, Mr. Robert Gebbie, Mr. William Steel, Mr. Graham Willis

Congregational Board:  Mr. John Dobson, Mr. Jim Harrison, Mrs. Nancy Henderson, Mrs. Margaret McBride, Mrs. Maggie MacRae, Mrs. Mary MacInnes, Mrs Jean McFarlane, Mr. Hugh Nisbet, Miss Janette Purdie, Mr Ellis Paterson, Dr. Billy Ramsay, Mr. Jim Slinger.